Telling myself that I wouldn’t be allowed to watch “Fantastic Four” and eat pizza with my husband until I’d planned my lesson, I hauled out my Sunday School bag and scriptures.

To my joy and relief tomorrow’s lesson is a simple, straight forward one on keeping the Sabbath as illustrated through the miracle of the manna in the desert.  Some lessons I find easier to connect to the specified scriptures than others.  Thank God for prayer and inspiration!  So I planned this one out easily and with confidence.  (Oooh, confidence!  What’s that?  I sure don’t have much of it!)  I just hope the girls don’t fight over and break the pitcher and glass I’m bringing to help illustrate the spiritual resevoir metaphor from one of the enrichment activities.  (On the other hand, my husband who hates the set of tulips hand painted on glass that we got as a gift, kind of hopes they do…)

Then I sat there and wondered what else I could do to make the lesson seem special.  I usually reward (ie, bribe) them with a treat at the end of the lesson if they’ve been good.  I’d been planning on making a cake/brownie thing with chocolate chips but inspiration of some variety or the other struck.  The scriptures describe manna as tasting like a wafer made with honey.  So I looked up “honey” in my cookbook and found a recipe for honey cake.  Perfect, right?  Even more perfect when I read the part that said the recipe was based on an Eastern European one called “lekach” in Yiddish.  Yiddish?!  Was I on the right trail or what??  That is, until I came to the part about two cups of coffee.  Heh heh.  No.  I could have used decaff I suppose but I’m not sure how I feel about that and I sure don’t want to confuse the girls.  So I hit the internet and googled “honey cake” and “lekach.”  It took a lot of looking– they all seemed to either call for coffee, brandy or spices I didn’t have and wasn’t willing to buy for an untried recipe.  Eventually my husband helped me substitute some of the spices for ones we do have.

So tomorrow, my students (of course, I may be assuming a lot with that plural) will have manna.  So that your students may also have manna, should you wish, I’ll share the recipe.  It came from here but I’m putting it in my post just in case the other site ever goes down.

  • 1/2 cup (125g) soft margarine
  • 1/2 cup (125g) soft brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup (125g) honey
  • 1 egg 2 cups plain flour
  • 2 level teaspoons ground ginger (er… I forgot the ginger…)
  • 1/2 teaspoon mixed sweet spice (I used cinnamon and nutmeg)
  • 1/2 cup (125ml) warm water
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda dissolved in the warm water
  1. Preheat the oven to Gas No. 5 (375F / 190C). Arrange 24 greaseproof baking cases in patty tins.
  2. Put the margarine, sugar, honey or syrup and egg into a bowl or food processor. Beat until smooth. Finally, add the flour sifted with the spices alternately with the bicarbonate of soda dissolved in the water. The batter will be thin. Put a level tablespoon of the mixture into each case.
  3. Bake for 20 minutes until a rich brown and spongy to gentle touch.

If your oven hates you as mine does me, keep an eye on them.  They’re very small and might not need the full time.

